• Google Advertisement

Passport Visa Requirements for Bulgaria

passport and visa requirements bulgaria

Passport or Identity Cards for European Nationals

European Nationals are required to prove evidence of nationality and identity in order to be allowed into any EU member state. This proof can be a valid passport or a national identity card. Either is acceptable. Visas are not required by EU Nationals

EU nationals are permitted to stay for up to 90 days after which visitors must register with the local police and obtain any legal permits for longer duration’s.

Eu nationals do not need  to show proof of a return ticket nor hold sufficient funds for the length of their stay.


Passports or ID Cards for Non European Nationals 

Non Europeans require a passport with at least 3 months validity beyond the length of your visit.

In addition, you are also required to be in possession of a return ticket and sufficient funds to cover your stay in Bulgaria.


Visas are not required by European, USA, Canada or Australian Nationals

Any other Nationals not referred to above are advised to contact your embassy for passport/ visa requirements.

Pet Passport. 

If bringing a pet from another EU country, your animal requires a pet passport, microchip and rabies vaccination certificate.

 Additional Buzz Info

British Embassy Sofia

 Schengen Agreement Countries

The Schengen Agreement abolished internal borders enabling passport-free movement between a large number of European countries.

Since 2007 Bulgaria has been a member of the European Union but is not yet in the Schengen agreement and so has controlled borders.

According to the European Parliament, Bulgaria and Romania have brought their border security up to EU standards and are fit to join Schengen, but not all EU governments agree, and a decision on their bid to join has been postponed.

entry requirements

The citizens of the 26  Schengen zone countries have the right to migrate internationally without any limitations. A basic human right, the freedom of movement, .
blue-box  (Blue) Countries participating in the Schengen
green-box  (Green) Non EU countries participating
yellow-box  (Yellow) EU Countries not in the Schengen but obliged to join
red-box  (Red) EU Countries opted out of participating

This information is up to date as of August 2015


Comments are closed.

  • Google Advertisement